NAPO UPDATE: Collective Bargaining Bill – S. 1611

Below is a message from NAPO regarding the new collective bargaining bill. NAPO explained at the conference last week that the first collective bargaining bill, HR 413, was held up in the Senate.  However, NAPO is optimistic that since this similar bill is starting off in the Senate that this will pass.  Let’s cross our fingers.  We are urging MPA members to contact our Arizona Senators and Representatives, explaining how important it is for police officers to have collective bargaining.


Click here for Senator Contact Information


Click here for Representative Contact Information




Dear Members,


On August 6, 2009, Senators Ted Kennedy (D-MA) and Judd Gregg (R-NH) introduced the Public Safety Employer-Employee Cooperation Act, S. 1611.  The bill currently has 7 cosponsors: 4 Republicans (Senators Susan Collins, Olympia Snow, Mel Martinez and Mike Johanns) and 3 Democrats (Senators Tom Harkin, Barbara Mikulski and Christopher Dodd). 


For your information, please find a below link of the bill itself (S.1611), NAPO’s endorsement letter to Senator Gregg, a list of current cosponsors of the House bill (H.R. 413) as well as a list of Senators who cosponsored S. 2123 last Congress. 


While your Senators and Congressmen are in their home states and districts during this month, please contact them and urge them to sign on in support of S. 1611 and H.R. 413.  NAPO is planning on making a big push to move S. 1611 as early as September and we need all the support we can get! 


Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or need further information on either S. 1611 or H.R. 413.  I can be reached at the NAPO office at (703) 549-0775 or at


Thank you,



Andrea Mournighan

Director of Governmental Affairs

National Association of Police Organizations

317 S. Patrick Street

Alexandria, VA 22314

(703) 549-0775

(571) 309-2923 (cell)

(703) 684-0515 (fax)


Senate Bill 1611 Letter from NAPO


Senate Bill 1611 Verbiage


Sponsors From House


Sponsors from Senate