NAPO “Top Cops” Awards – Nominate a Mesa Officer!


Since NAPO launched the awards program in 1994, the TOP COPS Awards® have paid tribute to outstanding law enforcement officers across the country for actions above and beyond the call of duty. TOP COPS® awardees are nominated by their fellow officers for outstanding service during the preceding calendar year.

The TOP COPS® are selected by an Awards Selection Committee comprised of national law enforcement representatives who choose one TOP COPS® case from each state and U.S. territory. The cases are then ranked and the top ten case winners are flown to Washington, DC for the awards ceremony. The awards show features a three-minute videotape of each TOP COP® and his or her story.

The TOP COPS Awards® are attended by celebrities, politicians, members of the national law enforcement community, corporate donors and other interested individuals. Here is just a short list of attendees we’ve been honored to have throughout the years:

President Bill Clinton

Vice President Al Gore

Michael Beach – NBC’s Third Watch

Coby Bell – NBC’s Third Watch

Richard Belzer – NBC’s Law & Order: Special Victims Unit [emcee 1995-2000]

Bobby Cannavale – NBC’s Third Watch

Charley Casserly – General Manager, Washington Redskins

Thomas Constantine -Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration

William Coyne – U.S. Representative (D-PA)

Dianne Feinstein – U.S. Senator (D-CA)

Dann Florek – NBC’s Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

Max Gail – Barney Miller

Dermot Gallagher – Ireland’s Ambassador to the US

Eduardo Gonzalez – Director, U.S. Marshals Service

Mariska Hargitay – NBC’s Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

Michelle Hurd – NBC’s Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

Jim Johnson – Under Secretary for Law Enforcement, U.S. Treasury

Ray Kelly – Commissioner, U.S. Customs Service

Yaphet Kotto – NBC’s Homicide: Life on the Street

John Magaw – Director, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms

Ed Marinaro – NBC’s Hill Street Blues

Matthew G. Martinez – U.S. Representative (D-CA)

Barry McCaffrey – Director, Office of National Drug Control Policy

Christopher Meloni – NBC’s Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

S. Epatha Merkerson – NBC’s Law & Order

James Oberstar – U.S. Representative (D-MN)

Jerry Orbach – NBC’s Law & Order

Molly Price – NBC’s Third Watch

Jim Ramstad – U.S. Representative (R-MN)

Kim Raver – NBC’s Third Watch

Jack Reed – U.S. Senator (D-RI)

Anthony Ruivivar – NBC’s Third Watch

Lynn Russell – CNN’s Headline News [emcee 1995-2000]

William Sessions – FBI Director

Skipp Sudduth – NBC’s Third Watch

John Walsh – Host of FOX’s America’s Most Wanted [emcee 1994-Present]

Jason Wiles – NBC’s Third Watch

Willie Williams – Los Angeles Police Chief

Proceeds from this event benefit the National Law Enforcement Officers’ Rights Center, the Police Research and Education Project (PREP), NAPO’s 501 (c)(3) educational organization.


All nominations must meet the following provisions in order to be considered.

  • Nominee(s) must be a sworn law enforcement officer from any federal, state, county or local law enforcement agency within the United States, its possessions or territories.
  • Nomination must be submitted by a sworn law enforcement officer, who must provide their signature in the space designated below.
  • Nomination must involve a specific incident or case occurring between January 1, 2009 and December 31, 2009.


First, contact your MPA rep and let them know you would like to nominate someone. 

Please write a short essay on why your nominee should be considered for a 2010 TOP COPS Award®. This essay should be composed on a separate sheet of paper. Remember to be as specific as possible with references to dates, events etc. In addition, you will need to complete the nomination form and attach this form to your essay. We invite you to send additional information in support of your nominee: Newspaper articles, police reports and video tapes all help our judges in their decision making process. Kindly send your package, postmarked no later than January 12, 2010, to:

National Association of Police Organizations
317 South Patrick Street
Alexandria, Virginia 22314

Download PDF Form