Vice President’s Message: The Time is Now to be Involved!

September 20, 2011

September 11th, 2001 – A date engrained in the minds of all of us and especially in the minds of the men and women of law enforcement. We saw the best in our brothers and sisters of the badge facing a foe so massive that the odds were clearly stacked against them. While people attempted […]

The loss of a Police Officer, brother & hero: Mark Kelly

September 19, 2011

“The Mesa Police Department and our membership lost a well-respected Police Officer, brother and hero.  Since Mark found out he had ALS, he graciously opened up his life and educated us about Lou Gehrig’s disease.   There is no doubt a great number of people are grieving his loss.  It has been astounding how our […]

MPA Particiaptes in Conference Call with VP Biden – American Jobs Act

September 12, 2011

Dear Members, Vice President Biden held a conference call this afternoon regarding the proposed American Jobs Act. If you missed the call here are the major points.  DOWNLOAD THE PDF OF THE AMERICAN JOBS BILL HERE DOWNLOAD THE PDF OF THE SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS OF THE AMERICAN JOBS ACT HERE First, there will be […]

NAPO September Legislative Update

September 12, 2011

Click here to download the PDF of NAPO’s September Washington Report Included in this issue of the Washington Report: • NAPO Recognition of the 10th Anniversary of September 11, 2001 • Review of NAPO’s 33rd Annual Convention in Dallas, Texas • Executive Director’s Report • Emergency Medical Service • Recognition of Our Convention Sponsors If […]


September 12, 2011

UPDATE AND CALL TO ACTION: THE NATIONAL BLUE ALERT On September 8, 2011, the Senate Judiciary Committee favorably reported The National Blue Alert Act of 2011, (S. 657) out of committee to be placed on the Senate Legislative Calendar (Calendar No. 160). During the committee mark-up, Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT) offered an amendment on behalf […]

2011 Election Results

September 5, 2011

Results are in for the election of MPA Executive Board and Trustees. President: Ryan Russell (65%) Phil Brailsford (35%) Vice President: Rick Perine (51%) Sean Kelly (29%) Nate Gafvert (20%) Secretary: Kurt Scanio (52%) Fred Bamonte (48%) Treasurer: Jeff Cutler (59%) Roy Dunkelbarger (41%) Trustees: Tracy Baca Tom Bradbury Billy Cooper Dan Glover Jon Klingler […]